April 15, 2024

Greg McElroy names four SEC college football programs he wants to see end championship droughts

The SEC isn’t considered the top conference in college football for no reason. They’ve won the most national championships out of any conference by a long way since 2000. Numerous programs have added to the trophy case for the SEC including the Alabama Crimson Tide, Auburn Tigers, LSU Tigers, Florida Gators, and the Georgia Bulldogs in the past 20 seasons.

Former Crimson Tide quarterback Greg McElroy says there are a few SEC programs that want to be on that list of recent champions more than anyone else. McElroy named the Tennessee Volunteers, Texas A&M Aggies, Texas Longhorns, and Oklahoma Sooners among his top ten teams who we want to see break their national championship drought.

The two former Big 12 schools both won national championships past the year 2000, but Tennessee hasn’t won the title since 1998, while the Aggies’ drought goes back to the World War II era. Of these four schools, Tennessee ranked the highest among SEC national championship droughts McElroy wants to see end, and second overall.