May 25, 2024

Matthews, Pettersson, Slavin finalists for Lady Byng Trophy

Toronto Maple Leafs star forward Auston Matthews was named a finalist for the Lady Byng Trophy on Saturday.

It marks the third time that Matthews has been a finalist for the award, which is presented annually to the player voted to best combine sportsmanship, gentlemanly conduct and ability as voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Vancouver Canucks forward Elias Pettersson and Carolina Hurricanes defenseman Jaccob Slavin also were named finalists Saturday.

Matthews, who was a runner-up for the award in 2019-20 and finished third in 2020-21, led the NHL with 69 goals this season. The 26-year-old also recorded a career-high 107 points and had 20 penalty minutes in 81 games.

Pettersson, 25, is bidding to become the first player to win the award in Canucks franchise history. He totaled 89 points (34 goals, 55 assists) and 12 penalty minutes in 82 games this season.

Slavin, 30, had 37 points (six goals, 31 assists), a plus-21 rating and eight penalty minutes in 81 games this season. He won the award in 2020-21 and was runner-up in 2021-22.

Los Angeles Kings captain Anze Kopitar won the Lady Byng Trophy last season.