June 15, 2024

Who won the Heisman Trophy in 2023? Full voting results, stats, list of award winners

This season’s Heisman Trophy race was outlined by quarterbacks who took benefit of second probabilities.

LSU’s Jayden Daniels exploded in his second season after transferring from Arizona State to LSU, Washington’s Michael Penix Jr. led the Huskies to an undefeated season after struggling 4 season-ending accidents at Washington and Oregon’s Bo Nix put up otherworldly numbers in the Pac-12 after beginning his profession at Auburn.

On Saturday night time, Daniels stood alone. The Heisman Trust rewarded the Tigers quarterback for an excellent 50-touchdown season, which included greater than 1,000 yards on the floor. Daniels is the first true dual-threat QB to win the prestigious award since Kyler Murray won in 2018, and he joins Joe Burrow as one of two LSU quarterbacks to joint the Heisman fraternity.

MORE: Who was snubbed from the Heisman ceremony?

Here’s a have a look at the 2023 Heisman Trophy winner, the full outcomes and the way the finalists stacked up coming into the ceremony. 

Who won the Heisman Trophy in 2023?

LSU quarterback Jayden Daniels won the 2023 Heisman Trophy on Saturday night time. Daniels completed first in voting, forward of Michael Penix Jr., Bo Nix, and Marvin Harrison Jr.

Daniels is the third Heisman Trophy winner in LSU historical past and the second in the final 5 years. He had an electrifying season as each a passer and a runner, accounting for 50 touchdowns and torching some of the SEC’s greatest defenses.

The Sporting News has all the pieces you must know from the voting outcomes beneath.

Update — 8:52 p.m.

Jayden Daniels is trying to observe the Joe Burrow mannequin, and the comparability is fairly shut. Both exploded in their second yr after transferring to LSU, greater than doubling their landing cross complete. The Heisman Trophy would even be fairly the similarity.

Update — 8:40 p.m.

As the broadcast explains, there is no such thing as a higher story amongst the 4 finalists than what Michael Penix Jr. has overcome. The Indiana switch suffered 4 season-ending accidents in Bloomington, however he saved persisting and is ceaselessly a legend at Washington.

Update — 8:30 p.m.

You do not see a married Heisman Trophy finalist too typically, however Bo Nix’s spouse is available for the ceremony tonight alongside together with his dad and mom.

Update — 8:20 p.m.

An at all times soft-spoken Marvin Harrison credit his son for not simply being a fantastic participant, however most significantly being a very good child. The Hall of Fame receiver is available together with his different son, Jett, who’s a number of years youthful than Marvin Jr.

Update — 8:05 p.m.

In the leadup to the announcement, fits grabbed the consideration. Daniels’ go well with featured pictures of himself doing the Heisman pose, whereas Penix’s go well with consists of the identify of his teammates. 

Heisman voting outcomes 2023

Finish Player Pos. School Points 1st 2nd third
1 Jayden Daniels QB LSU 2,029 503 217 86
2 Michael Penix Jr. QB Washington 1,701 292 341 143
3 Bo Nix QB Oregon 885 51 205 322
4 Marvin Harrison Jr. WR Ohio State 352 20 78 136
5 Jordan Travis QB Florida State 85 8 19 23
6 Jalen Milroe QB Alabama 73 4 8 45
7 Ollie Gordon II RB Oklahoma St. 31 1 2 24
8 Cody Schrader RB Missouri 29 1 2 22
9 Blake Corum QB Michigan 28 3 2 15
10 J.J. McCarthy QB Michigan 21 1 7 4

Heisman Trophy finalists’ stats

Jayden Daniels, LSU


12 72.2 3,812 40 4


Games Att YDS YPC TD
12 135 1,134 8.4 10

Marvin Harrison Jr., Ohio State


Games Rec YDS TD AVG
12 67 1,211 14 18.1

Bo Nix, Oregon


13 77.2 4,145 40 3


Games Att YDS YPC TD
13 53 228 4.3 6

Michael Penix Jr., Washington


13 65.9 4,218 33 9


Games Att YDS YPC TD
13 29 -18 -0.6 3

MORE: What a 12-team CFB Playoff bracket would’ve looked like in 2023

College soccer award winners 2023

  • Heisman Trophy (excellent participant of the yr): TBD
  • Maxwell Award (participant of the yr): Michael Penix Jr., Washington
  • Davey O’Brien Award (greatest QB): Jayden Daniels, LSU
  • Doak Walker Award (greatest RB): Ollie Gordon, Oklahoma State
  • Fred Biletnikoff Award (greatest WR): Marvin Harrison Jr., Ohio State
  • John Mackey Award (greatest TE): Brock Bowers, Georgia
  • Chuck Bednarik Award (greatest defensive participant): Payton Wilson, NC State
  • Bronko Nagurski (greatest defensive participant): Xavier Watts, Notre Dame
  • Butkus Award (greatest linebacker): Payton Wilson, NC State
  • Jim Thorpe Award (greatest defensive again): Trey Taylor, Air Force
  • Rimington Trophy (greatest heart): Jackson Powers-Johnson, Oregon
  • Outland Trophy (greatest inside lineman): T’Vondre Sweat, Texas
  • Lou Groza Award (greatest kicker): Graham Nicholson, Miami (OH)
  • Ray Guy Award (greatest punter): Tory Taylor, Iowa

Heisman Trophy winners historical past, previous 14 winners

Year Player Points Margin of victory
2023 Jayden Daniels, QB, LSU 2,029 328
2022 Caleb Williams, QB, USC 2,031 611
2021 Bryce Young, QB, Alabama 2,311 1,357
2020 DeVonta Smith, WR, Alabama 1,856 669
2019 Joe Burrow, QB, LSU 2,608 1,846
2018 Kyler Murray, QB, Oklahoma 2,167 296
2017 Baker Mayfield, QB, Oklahoma 2,398 1,098
2016 Lamar Jackson, QB, Louisville 2,144 620
2015 Derrick Henry, RB, Alabama 1,832 293
2014 Marcus Mariota, QB, Oregon 2,534 1,284
2013 Jameis Winston, QB, Florida State 2,205 1,501
2012 Johnny Manziel, QB, Texas A&M 2,029 323
2011 Robert Griffin III, QB, Baylor 1,687 280
2010 Cam Newton, QB, Auburn 2,263 1,184